The Royal bringing an exclusive look at films by Ryan Gosling and Hal Hartley

April is where it’s at, at The Royal Cinema on College Street!!

Opening April 3, director Hal Hartley brings his unique vision to the screen with Ned Rifle. The delightfully offbeat tale follows Henry (Thomas Jay Ryan) and Fay’s (Parker Posey) son Ned (Liam Aiken), who emerges from a witness protection program with a single, fixed purpose: to kill his father for ruining his mother’s life. Following this exclusive run, The Royal is running a three-part Hal Hartley retrospective, which will feature Trust, The Unbelievable Truth and Simple Men.

In Ryan Gosling’s directorial debut, Lost River, Billy (Christina Hendricks) and her son Bones (Iain De Caestecker) as they travel deep into the macabre underworld. The dark fairy tale is about love, family and the fight for survival in the face of danger.

The full April lineup includes:

First run titles:

Ned Rifle – Exclusive Toronto run
Opens Friday, April 3

Lost River – Exclusive Canadian run
Opens Friday, April 24

Special events & matinees: 

Neon Dreams Cinema Club presents To Live and Die an L.A.
Thursday, April 2 at 9 p.m.

The Black Museum presents American Horror Story: The Films of Larry Fessenden
Wednesday, April 8 at 9:15 p.m.

The Royal presents Trust
Friday, April 10 at 9 p.m.

The Royal presents The Unbelievable Truth
Saturday, April 11 at 9 p.m.

The Royal presents Simple Men
Sunday, April 12 at 4:30 and 9 p.m.

LASERBLAST Video Club presents Kung Fu Wonder Child
Wednesday, April 15 at 9:30 p.m.

Rue Morgue CineMacabre Movie Night presents Lost Soul
Thursday, April 16 at 9:30 p.m.

ROYAL RETRO presents Gentlemen Prefer Blondes
Opens Friday, April 17

Kid Power! presents The Point
Saturday, April 18 at 2 p.m.

Robots vs. Unicorns presents Flash Gordon
Tuesday, April 21 at 7:30 p.m.

National Canadian Film Day presents Calendar
Wednesday, April 29 at 7:30 p.m.

Get social on Facebook & Twitter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: